How to Apply as a Graphic Designer

Just something non-A to Z related, but I think it’s important to share. If you’re an aspiring graphic designer, read this and you can thank Jonas Diego for it afterwards 🙂

HotDamnIt

We are told “not to judge a book by it’s cover” but we do it all the time, none the less.

I am the Studio Manager for the Creatives Department of the Ladbrokes Coral Group in Manila, responsible for the provision of creative services including overseeing the delivery and execution of creative requests across the business globally. Last week I posted a call out for Graphic Artists in my Facebook account, asking those interested to send their resume and portfolio to my email address. To date, I’ve received over 300 applications (and they’re still coming) but I’ve shortlisted only 40 people out of this number.

Don’t get me wrong: a lot of those submissions were impressive bodies of work.

The problem however, was that a big chunk of those applications were not packaged professionally enough. Believe me when I say that how you put together your submissions greatly affects your…

View original post 575 more words

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

