How They Said I Love You

It’s amazing how inspiration strikes us when we least expect it. I was checking out posts on Facebook the other night when I happened on a friend’s that was actually posted hours ago. Let’s call her “L”. She shared to us beautiful love letters exchanged between her parents at the time when they were living in a different world.

I was inspired because not only did one letter, in particular, touch me, but I am reminded of the beautiful love between another wonderful woman and her husband, who has recently passed away while she lived in that different world as well.

I am sharing these notes/letters, the first immediately below, as they have basically given us their permission to do share.

letter from behind bars

L’s parents were behind bars for a reason: they were political detainees during the Martial Law period. Anyone who has ever lived in those days know how it is to actually live in fear almost day by day. And anyone who has ever cared to listen to stories and do their own research would, at least, get an idea and know. It’s sad when young people nowadays say that those dark days were the best days in Filipinos’ lives. They have no idea…Oh, but this isn’t supposed to be a political commentary or anything.

Above is one of the letters L shared, from her mother to her Mahal (Love). I like this the best among the stuff she posted. It says,

Tho’ you’re shut out from the world behind those bars, I hope that you find joy knowing thru this card that I love you. Time, like a whirlpool, used to dig so fast into the deep waters until you came and I had to cry for every moment to tarry a little while that I may fully savor the happiness of loving you…we’ve struck the gold hidden in each other’s heart. How deeply I love you but how inadequate the words…”

Oh, to hear such words!

These next ones are from, again, the blogger whom we know as Rara a.k.a. Rarasaur. You may already have an idea of who she is. Or at least, you might have found my recent post “Why Rarasaurs Make Bad Inmates“.

Rara and husband Gray seemed to have the kind of relationship many would like to have. I guess, like every other relationship, they had their issues between them, but obviously, the love they had for each other was much, much more than enough to make up for those insignificant times. Their love was as big as the biggest star that he aspired to find and give her. He was the biggest star that kept her going during the lowest times in her life, when she was behind bars. He still is the biggest star to guide her now as he watches over her from above.

This is the caption for this flower sketch sent her by Gray: “I planted these flowers for you, Ra. On a stretch of public road. Go ahead and rest on them. They are strong enough and carrying you is like carrying light. Really loud, overly-caffeinated light.”.

Doesn’t that make you fall in love, too?

How about this note below, one of many he left her to find after he has gone? Brief but sweet, even with an F-word (he he):

When my husband and I weren’t married yet, we had this little notebook on which we wrote our love letters. He’s not much of a writer, yes, but he tried. You can very well guess who wrote the longer ones…Gray and Rara make me want to do something like that again. Maybe I will.

Alas! (does anybody still say ‘alas’???) I can only strive to be as good and eloquent a writer as the one who wrote these last stuff I am sharing. If you’re not Filipino, there’s a very big chance you do not know him.

He is the late Sen. Benigno “Ninoy” Aquino, Jr., husband to the late Pres. Corazon “Cory” Aquino who led the historic People Power Revolution, father to our current president who inherited his name. Like L’s parents, he also became a Martial Law political prisoner and it is widely believed that his assassination in 1983 had to do with his very brave and public stand against the Marcos regime. I am mentioning him here, though, for the beautiful letter and poem he wrote for his beloved Cory.

His farewell letter to her is long and I am not sure if I’d be allowed to post it in verbatim. So I give to you a link. Kindly CLICK HERE. Meanwhile, Ninoy wrote a moving poem for her as well. Years after his death, artist Jose Mari Chan made a song out of it.

This is I Have Fallen in Love (With the Same Woman Three Times)

This poem and all of the other thing shared here only tell us one thing: if you love somebody, let him/her know NOW. Do not delay for you never know when it’s time for one of you to leave. Do not hesitate. Savor your time together. Love for it is the best feeling in the world!

2 thoughts on “How They Said I Love You

    • Glad you liked it. Happy that I shared this, too…L is a very private person, but I’m glad she allowed me to share it here. I had to ask her this morning (early evening there) to make sure it’s okay.

      Like

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

