Blogging vs. Writing

Not all bloggers are writers. Some can’t write, some don’t want to, some do other things with their blogs. Not all writers are bloggers. Some don’t have the time or means, some choose not to blog, some want privacy. Not all writer-bloggers write professionally. Many just want to write and share…

I mention this because two bloggers posted about being bloggers and being writers recently. I thought I’d reblog one of those as it’s perfect to add to my Wordsmithereens page…

What are your thoughts on this? Here were my comments that I posted at his page:

“I think everyone has the right to blog, writer or not. A blog is a modernized diary – no one told others before that they couldn’t write in a diary (except maybe the bullies and hecklers, but that’s different). What it all comes down to is whether people will like what he’s blogged about and how he’s written it. It’s totally up to the reader/visitor to stay, and totally up to the blogger to improve. I admit to having seen blogs I didn’t like, but I always say that’s their right to blog as long as they don’t hurt anyone else, plus I can always leave. If it is supposed to be a professional blog where the blogger earns from writing, of course, I would like to see a well-written piece.

Who made writers gods of the blogging world? I don’t even know why the issue should be an issue and be debated on. Besides, not all bloggers write. We can all benefit from blogging, writer or not, and it is up to us to make it happen. Personally, I think the best thing to do is to just have fun writing and have pride in doing it. That’s where quality really comes in. If you care about what you write, others may care about it as well.”

Makeup & Breakup

Blogging and traditional media work together. Twitter complements traditional media

– Evan Williams

 

Blog Sphere Blog Sphere

Is blogging same as writing, meaning “real” writing?

It is a question gaining significance with rapid growth in blogging fraternity. Are the purist writers immune to this fractured debate that blogging is not real writing? The discourse has evolved into two classical schools of thought – one that blogging is all about writing, and the other is creative writing is qualitatively different from constant blogging.

Superior arguments have been built for and against the case of real writers as bloggers; arguments from each school of thoughts are carrying reasonable meaning to hold their ground. But with ground breaking arguments that bloggers are also real writers and greater counter-arguments are flowing thick and fast from the other side that real writers needn’t blog…the discourse is gaining its decisive direction.

So, what…

View original post 864 more words

4 thoughts on “Blogging vs. Writing

  1. I think this is one of my issues. I know I am not a writer, but people generally like my short, to the point, messages. I have done well as a teacher, encouraging students to reach higher planes, learning diligence and moving forward, but have nothing to brag about when it comes to writing anything worth publishing. I wish it were not so.

    Like

    • I would like to disagree. Just looking at the way you wrote your comment here (and on other threads) makes me believe that you are a writer. Maybe not professionally, but if you keep writing, I can see that you’ll just get better and better. The talent is already there, you just have to hone it, if you want to (I’m saying “if you want to” because it’s not like you have to as it is a choice).

      “…have nothing to brag about when it comes to writing anything worth publishing.”

      My reply above only sort of mentions the technical side of things, but when it comes to “worth,” it has to do more with what you are writing about and the message you convey. I think that so far, all you’ve shared have lots of worth. We can all benefit from your wisdom, Miss Beth. Besides, there will always be someone out there who will be able to appreciate your words. Sometimes, we don’t know how much our words actually mean to somebody. We don’t have to move mountains to make a difference.

      What good is a well-written, grammatically correct and technically perfect piece if it won’t matter to anyone but yourself, and only to feed the ego?

      I think you should just keep on writing, Miss Beth. Your wisdom and compassion are your gift…Cheers!!! 🙂

      Like

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

