“MOTHERHOOD KNOWS NO BOUNDARIES”

It’s the love month yet! What better way to celebrate love than to pay tribute to the reason why we are all here alive, living and loving? This is a story of a young mother’s love. We’re months ahead of Mother’s Day, but it’s nice to celebrate the bond between mother and child. Of course, we do not belittle fathers, but real men understand this.

I am not a mother so I asked someone to guest blog. Actually, I asked permission to reblog something she wrote. Technically, it’s not exactly a reblog as I read it on her Facebook page, but we’re not strict here *wink!* I was supposed to post this next Sunday, but seeing a recently shared post in FB that is eliciting a lot of comments, I decided there’s no better time than today.

Folks, let’s meet Lorie and her cute baby…ENJOY!!! 🙂

************************************************************

MOTHERHOOD KNOWS NO BOUNDARIES

(Lorie Dazo)

mother-and-child

Baby and her equally cute mom, Lorie

I just had my APE taken. The doctor who administered my physical exam was a “he.” That was probably the reason why the nurse handled the breast and anal examinations. I would have not minded, after all, I had been naked in front of strangers of both genders twice. And the last vivid memory I have of my recent childbirth is that of a male-nurse (or a doctor) holding my left breast as another nurse put my newborn on my chest so that the baby could have its taste of the first milk.

Because I have been actively breastfeeding my newborn, I have become shameless. I can probably claim that I have mastered the art of breastfeeding in public. With a brave front, I have demanded for special privileges in public places, asked to be provided a decent breastfeeding station. It has allowed my baby to peacefully latch on before I put a scarf around her and dare face the public again.

Inside the house, I became less conscious about the privacy of my own body as I am more concerned about pacifying my baby whenever she howls (yes, howl) out of hunger anywhere in the house. I am unmindful of the fact that our new home has glass windows, and no, we have not installed curtains yet, nor blinds, and that my sister winces every time she sees the exposed breast. Only when there are relatives of the opposite sex do I put a scarf around us or secure a private area to breastfeed. This is not out of shame, but out of courtesy, for they would probably be unwilling to witness such an intimate scene.

breastfeeding-on-public

No, my dears, that is NOT the father 😉 As for Baby…feeding time!!!

This is also the first pregnancy that I have no immediate interest to regain my size, or to whiten the darkened areas of my skin. I am actually anxious that anything I take may affect the lactation of my child. I have probably lost interest or perhaps I am more interested in the welfare of my baby rather than in being pleasant-looking. And since I am breastfeeding, gone are the days that my husband would help me take care of the child during the night or in the wee hours of the morning as I am the only one she probably needs when she wakes up.

I have been more tired than ever, barely remembering how I survived post-pregnancy after my first child. I sometimes wonder if I have made the right decision to breastfeed my second child, then I remember that it was not my choice. The baby chose it. She wants me. As opposed to my first-born who refused and hated being breastfed, my newborn hates the bottled counterpart. She loves to be cuddled warmly and safely onto my chest as she sucks out all the weight I gained during pregnancy. Yes, if there is one positive outcome in relation to my physical appearance, it is that thanks to breastfeeding, I am losing weight. And losing weight fast.

A few more days and I will formally return to work (formally, as I have been using my leaves, working and checking the output of my colleagues). That will mean that I cannot be disturbed for a full eight hours. I do not know how my baby will adapt to this, but we have introduced bottle feeding to her in the last two weeks (my child has no choice but to be bottlefed during those hours).

baby-picture

This is one of her latest pics, taken a few days ago. What a cutie patootie!

During the two months that I have been breastfeeding my child, I have learned a lot of misconceptions regarding breastfeeding and have affirmed a lot of positive results from it as well. Most of all, I am happy that my baby is as healthy as I want her to be, with all her limbs and cheeks full and bright.

With aching breasts, I am moving on to probably more tiresome days ahead. But this, I can say: I have embraced motherhood, wholeheartedly, finally.

handcrafted-token

Mommy is a crafts-freak, and that’s a good thing. This is a token for Baby’s Christening this coming Sunday, February 23…Welcome to the world, Baby!!!

no-breastfeeding-allowed

In case you were wondering, this is the image posted on Facebook that I was talking about

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: LORELIE DAZO is now a mother of two. She is a colleague but don’t ask me what she does, it’s complicated 😉 She says in her blog, “I love doing crafts. I love painting. I am happy with what I have.” You can find her at lcdazo.wordpress.com. It still doesn’t have much but hopefully I can make her write more jewels like this 🙂

Meanwhile, may I emphasize, Miss Dazo owns ALL copyrights to the article and photos, with the exception of the last image (cartoon). None of what she owns may be copied from here. Contact her first, if you want to use her piece, especially the photos.

************************************************************

Thank you for reading! We both hope you enjoyed it.

As you can see, somebody’s sharing of a Facebook post regarding breastfeeding in public prompted me to bump the schedule of this blog post a few days earlier. I personally do not mind mothers feeding their kids in public. It is a bit awkward as, like most people here, I grew up in a conservative society, but I’ve realized long ago that breastfeeding is a natural and important process. As I told the author, I am actually often really concerned about others who may be ogling. Fortunately, most breastfeeding moms know how to properly position their babies so, you know, sorry, folks, nothing to see here. Go on, turn and walk away, that’s right… 🙂

What are your thoughts on this? Let us know by answering the poll and posting comments. BTW, opinions are allowed, but it is never a reason to disrespect so please mind your manners.

3 thoughts on ““MOTHERHOOD KNOWS NO BOUNDARIES”

Let Me Know Your Thoughts

